David Barthelmy

From: MSA-Announce@lists.minsocam.org on behalf of J Alex Speer [j_a_speer@minsocam.org]

Sent: Saturday, August 07, 2010 11:00 AM

To: MSA-Announce List

Subject: Aug-Sept 2010 Am Min online, election, Denver 2010

Dear MSA Member,

[1] The August-September 2010 (v. 95 n. 8-9) American Mineralogist is online.

_ _ _ .

Your institution subscribe to GeoScienceWorld (GSW)? Access the full- text articles without having to enter a password, at: http://ammin.geoscienceworld.org/

> ----

If you have a personal subscription to the journal through MSA, and want to access the journal on GeoScienceWorld (GSW), go to: http://gswaccess.minsocam.org/Geoscienceworld.html">http://gswaccess.minsocam.org/Geoscienceworld.html

or see it on the MSA website at: http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/AmMin/TOC/2010/July10.html

[2] Results of the 2010 election - the 2011 President of the Society is Dave Bish, the Vice President is Mike Hochella. Darrell J. Henry was re-elected to another term as Treasurer, and Mickey Gunter, Secretary, remains in office. The new Councilors are Pamela Burnley and Guy Hovis. They join continuing councilors Wendy A. Bohrson, Sumit Chakraborty, Peter C. Burns, and Carol D. Frost.

- [3] GSA Denver 2010 Abstract submission deadline 10 August 2010 http://www.geosociety.org/meetings/2010/
- >. There are over 30 topical sessions of interest sponsored or co-sponsored by MSA, GSA's MGPV Division, and the other Associated Societies (GS, CMS, MAC, and MSGBI).

[4] MSA 2010 Annual Meeting in Denver, CO, USA

MSA Awards Lunch == Tuesday, 2 November 2010: 12:30 PM-3:00 PM, HyattCCC, Capitol Ballroom 4. The Roebling Medal will be presented to Robert C. Newton (Craig E. Manning, Citationist) and the MSA Award to Benjamin Gilbert (Glenn Waychunas, citationist). The 2009-2010 MSA Distinguished Lecturer's will also be recognized: Katharine Cashman, David London, and Bruce Yardley.

Award & Presidential Lectures, MSA Business Meeting == Tuesday, 2 November 2010: 3:00 PM-5:30 PM, CCC. The Roebling Medal Lecture is at

3 pm, Robert C. Newton will speak on "The Three Partners of Metamorphic Petrology". MSA Award Lecture is at 3:30 pm, Benjamin Gilbert will speak on "Addressing the nanoparticle challenge to mineralogy and geochemistry". The MSA Presidential Address by John Brady is at 4:00 PM by John Brady.

MSA/GS/MGPV Joint Reception == Tuesday, 2 November 2010: 5:45 PM-7:45 PM, CCC, Four Seasons Ballroom 1. It is a ticketed event, and may be purchased at the door.

MSA in the Exhibit Hall at Booth 918. Open Sunday-Wednesday.

[5] 2010 Short Course, December 11-12, 2010 - Diffusion in Minerals and Melts, Napa, California, USA (Youxue Zhang and Daniele Cherniak, organizers).

Description <http://www.minsocam.org/msa/sc/DFFSN_descriptn.pdf>
Registration at <https://msa.minsocam.org/shortcourses.html>

[6] Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Awards, International Centre for Diffraction Data. Multiple recipients selected on a competitive basis, each receiving an award of \$2,500. Applications must be received by the ICDD by 29 October 2010 http://www.icdd.com/resources/awards/frevel.htm

======= end of message ======